STUDENT TRANSPORTATION TASK FORCE – TERMS OF REFERENCE

May 11, 2020

Mandate

- The Student Transportation Task Force will provide a report to the Minister of Education that contains recommendations related, but not limited, to:
 - o school board and industry responsibility for student transportation;
 - student transportation eligibility;
 - o student transportation legislation and regulation;
 - student transportation safety; and
 - o student transportation co-operation among partners.

Scope

- The Student Transportation Task Force will consider the following items when making its recommendations to the Minister of Education:
 - o cost implications for student transportation options;
 - student transportation delivery models;
 - legislation and regulation surrounding safety, transportation eligibility and responsibility;
 - impacts of varying board calendars and school bell times;
 - o differing levels of transportation infrastructure throughout Alberta;
 - services for students with disabilities;
 - o school choice consideration;
 - o constitutional rights of students in a francophone regional authority; and
 - o other issues as identified by the chair.

Background

- In preparation for Budget 2020, Alberta Education held meetings with every school board and charter school in the province.
- While the meetings contributed to the development of a new funding model that was introduced on February 27, 2020 for implementation on September 1, 2020, it was determined that student transportation requires further review.
- Budget 2020 added \$15 million to student transportation funding. Each school board received an approximate five per cent increase from its previous allocation in the 2019/20 school year.

Alberta

• The 2019/20 funding allocation, in addition to the \$15 million supplemental funding for student transportation, will serve as the baseline funding amount until a new solution is developed.

Membership

- Nathan Neudorf (Chair), MLA, Lethbridge-East
- Tracy Allard, MLA, Grande Prairie
- Michaela Glasgo, MLA, Brooks-Medicine Hat
- Nate Horner, MLA, Drumheller-Stettler
- Matt Jones, MLA, Calgary-South East
- Trisha Estabrooks, Board Chair, Edmonton Public School Board (Alberta School Boards Association representative)
- Brenda Gibson, Manager Transportation Services, Calgary Board of Education (College of Alberta School Superintendents representative)
- Dexter Durfey, Secretary-Treasurer, Palliser School Division (Association of School Business Officials of Alberta representative)
- Josée Devaney, Secretary-Treasurer, Conseil Scolaire Centre-Nord (Fédération des Conseils Scolaires Francophone de l'Alberta representative)
- Jody McKinnon, Manager, Transportation, Calgary Roman Catholic Separate School Division (Student Transportation Association of Alberta representative)
- Jacquie Surgenor, Director from Sherwood Park (Alberta School Councils' Association representative)
- Chris Gilmour, Superintendent of Connect Charter School, (The Association of Alberta Public Charter Schools)
- Andrew Knack, Councillor, City of Edmonton (Alberta Urban Municipalities Association Representative)
- Kathy Rooyakkers, District 3 Director, Pembina River (Rural Municipalities of Alberta:
- Industry representatives:
 - Jonathan Weal, Regional Director for Southern Alberta and Director of Business Development, Southland Transportation Calgary (Pacific Western Transportation)
 - Yacine Belhadj, Area Manager for Alberta, Calgary (First Student Inc.)
 - Brian Hauptman, General Manager Student Transportation, Edmonton (Golden Arrow Motor Coaches)
 - o Mark Critch, President, Fort McMurray (Sparksman Transportation)
- Alberta Education representatives:
 - Richard Arnold, Director, Business Operations and Stakeholder Support
 - Keith Bowen, Director, Analytics and Funding Assurance Review

Alberta

- Rick Grebenstein, Senior Transportation Manager, Business Operations and Stakeholder Support
- Alberta Transportation representative:
 - Chris Yanitski, Vehicle Standards Engineer. Also, Canadian Standards Association D250 School Bus Safety Standards Committee Member.

Timelines

- The Student Transportation Task Force will deliver its recommendations to the Minister of Education this fall.
- Implementation of approved recommendations will be determined by government.

Meetings

- The chair will determine the meeting schedule and frequency.
- Meetings will be held remotely until Alberta Health Services guidelines until larger inperson meetings are permitted.
- Alberta Education will record the meeting minutes.
- The chair may invite guests to attend meetings as a resource, as required.

Decision Making

- The committee will strive for consensus when making decisions and recommendations.
- In cases where consensus cannot be achieved, MLAs will determine the decision or recommendation.

Alberta