For more than 20 years, the Minister’s Seniors Service Awards have recognized volunteers and groups that improve the lives of Alberta’s older generation. Normally, eight nominees are recognized. However, this year, the quality of nominations warranted an additional award in the individual category.

The recipient of the Alice Modin award will also be recognized. Thirty years ago, Modin campaigned to launch a seniors day in Strathcona County that paved the way for a provincewide Seniors’ Week. The Alice Modin Award was created in her name to honour a senior who has contributed long-term service to their community.

“Alberta is a province of dedicated and talented volunteers who work day after day to improve seniors’ lives. Congratulations to the award recipients. Thank you for everything you do to serve seniors in your community.”

Lori Sigurdson, Minister of Seniors and Housing

2018 Minister’s Seniors Service Awards recipients

  • Bill Chrapko, Edmonton
  • Bill Wulff, Drumheller
  • Della Robertson, Cochrane
  • Dolores Dercach, Sundre
  • Jim Swift, Calgary
  • Waqar Manzoor, Chestermere
  • Fairview and Area Seniors Check-In Line Society, Fairview
  • The Lending Cupboard Society of Alberta, Red Deer

Alice Modin Award recipient

  • Gregory Steiner, Calgary

Award recipients were selected from 50 nominations.

Media inquiries