Skip to content Skip to site navigation Skip to search

NorQuest College has new board chair

Award-winning, visionary health executive and University of Alberta professor Dr. Sandra Ann Colbourne is the new chair of the Board of Governors of NorQuest College.

Following an open recruitment competition, Dr. Colbourne was the successful candidate for board chair. She has been a public member on the board of NorQuest College since March 2017 and is a member of NorQuest’s 1,000 Women Committee.  

“Dr. Colbourne is a highly esteemed member of the medical and academic community with significant experience leading systems transformation in health care. I am confident she will make valuable contributions to NorQuest College, ensuring the highest-quality education for its students. I look forward to working with her in her new role as chair. I’d also like to thank Dr. Colbourne’s predecessor, Mr. Alan Skoreyko, for his service to the college.”

Marlin Schmidt, Minister of Advanced Education

Public members on post-secondary boards play an essential role  providing leadership and representing the interests of Albertans. The chair represents the Board of Governors to the minister of Advanced Education. Post-secondary boards are responsible for guiding the future of the institution and are accountable for ensuring that public funds are used in a fiscally responsible manner.

“I believe strongly in the current value and future potential of NorQuest College, and look forward to working with my fellow board members and college executives to improve the lives of thousands of Albertans. It is my pleasure to accept this position and help NorQuest College fulfil its strategic plan, which outlines a bold future for the college.”

Dr. Sandra Ann Colbourne, chair of the Board of Governors of NorQuest College

“NorQuest College, our learners, and the communities we serve will benefit greatly from this appointment. Dr. Colbourne is an extremely passionate and dedicated advocate for education and innovation in Alberta.”

Jodi L. Abbott, president and CEO of NorQuest College

Dr. Colbourne is currently a professor of medicine at the University of Alberta and has served in many administrative roles for the University of Alberta Hospital. She recently retired from her role as the senior medical director of Transformation and Innovation at Alberta Health Services. Her volunteer experience includes serving as a director on the Mayo Clinic Alumni Association Board. 

Dr. Colbourne has received numerous awards, such as the President’s Excellence Award from Alberta Health Services, the Plummer Society Award of Excellence from the Mayo Clinic and a Rhodes Scholarship from the University of Oxford. She holds degrees in medicine, biochemistry and theology.

The chair of the board of NorQuest College is appointed for a term of up to three years and is eligible for reappointment to a second three-year term. The chair receives an honorarium of $5,040 per year and is reimbursed for allowable expenses as per institutional policy.

Media inquiries

Government of Alberta