This release was issued under a previous government.

Exceptional students awarded Queen’s Jubilee Medal

Her Honour, the Honourable Lois Mitchell, lieutenant-governor of Alberta, presented the 2015 Queen’s Golden Jubilee Citizenship Medal to eight exemplary students at Government House. The medal recognizes the recipients’ volunteerism and leadership within their communities and schools.

“These remarkable individuals provide powerful examples of active citizenship. They are inspiring leaders who are willing to share their abilities and compassion with others and they are also fearless when faced with obstacles along the path to creating positive change. I look forward to seeing where their vision and energy take them in the future.”

The Honourable Lois Mitchell, lieutenant-governor of Alberta

“These eight young Albertans exemplify the values of civic participation, volunteerism and leadership. They have worked hard, persevered and made a difference, not only in their schools and communities, but also in the lives of the people they have impacted. Congratulations to the recipients on their achievement.”

Ricardo Miranda, minister of Culture and Tourism

The medal is awarded annually to eight Alberta students. The 2015 recipients are:

  • Rahul Arora from Calgary
  • En Chi (Angela) Chen from Calgary
  • Amie Gartner from Daysland
  • Alison Lee from Coaldale
  • Hina Khan from Edmonton
  • Alex MacRae-Korobkov from Edmonton
  • Shiv Ruparell from Calgary
  • Sabrina Yu from Calgary

The Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Citizenship Medal and the Premier’s Citizenship Award were established in 2002 to mark the 50th anniversary of the accession to the throne of Queen Elizabeth II.

Medal recipients are selected from among the Alberta high school students who receive the Premier’s Citizenship Award that year. Medal recipients are chosen by a selection committee of Albertans who are themselves outstanding citizens, volunteers and community members.

The award includes a $5,000 cheque, a letter of congratulations from the minister of Culture and Tourism, and a medal and a letter of commendation presented by the lieutenant-governor.

The award program is operated in partnership between Culture and Tourism and Advanced Education.

Media inquiries