This release was issued under a previous government.

Minister of Justice and Solicitor General Kathleen Ganley, Alberta’s attorney general, has released the 2016 list of Queen’s Counsel (commonly written as ‘Q.C.’) appointees. The individuals are a diverse group that includes both public and private sector lawyers from communities across the province.

“This year’s Queen’s Counsel appointees have demonstrated their commitment to enhancing our province’s justice system. In doing so, they have shown themselves to be deserving of this distinction as well as the respect of their peers within the legal community.”

Kathleen Ganley, Minister of Justice and Solicitor General

The tradition of appointing lawyers to the Queen’s Counsel dates back to 16th century England. The practice was continued in Canada prior to Confederation, with the first Queen’s Counsel appointees admitted in Upper Canada in 1841.

For the Q.C. designation in Alberta, applications are reviewed by a screening committee comprised of members of the judiciary and legal community, which submits recommendations for appointment to the Minister of Justice and Solicitor General and Cabinet for consideration.