New buildings help complete Ukrainian Cultural Heritage Village
Step back in time to the early days on the Prairies as the Ukrainian Cultural Heritage Village opens five new buildings.
A post office, two-room schoolhouse, teacherage, granary and barn dating back to the 1920s will join more than 30 buildings at the Village that welcomes visitors into the life of east central Alberta prior to 1930.
Representing new aspects of provincial history, the buildings help complete the story of Ukrainian settlers in Alberta and shed light on the importance of communication and education in this time period.
The buildings come from the Alberta communities of Morecambe, Myrnam, Andrew and Smoky Lake, all of which are now permanently connected to the story of Ukrainian settlement in Alberta.
Fully restored and refurnished, these buildings are a part of the Ukrainian Cultural Heritage Village Enrichment Program, which was initiated in 2003 by the Friends of the Ukrainian Village Society.
The program was established to help complete to Village in terms of missing historic structures. A total of 20 original structures are planned to complete the museum’s story. So far, 18 have been relocated from surrounding communities in east central Alberta to the Village where they will be restored, furnished and open to the public in years to come. These are the first five of the buildings to open.
The Ukrainian Cultural Heritage Village is an outdoor living history museum that tells the story of Ukrainian settlement in Alberta from 1892 to 1930. Visitors step back in time with the help of costumed role-players who portray the lives of actual pioneers.
Open daily between the May long weekend and Labour Day, the site welcomes approximately 43,500 visitors each year, including 11,000 school students.