This release was issued under a previous government.

Welcome to Main Street

Matthew Wangler, Executive Director, Alberta Historical Resources Foundation, presents Angie McDow, President of the Old Strathcona Foundation, with a certificate marking the foundation's membership in the Alberta Main Street Program.

The foundation has been accepted for membership in the Alberta Main Street Program. As a member, the foundation is now eligible to receive funding and technical assistance to complete conservation projects supporting revitalization of the historic Strathcona commercial district.

“Old Strathcona is one of our province’s heritage gems and preserving the unique character of the neighbourhood will enhance the quality of life for residents and create new opportunities for local business. We are proud to partner with the Old Strathcona Foundation in bringing new life to one of Edmonton’s most dynamic communities.”

Heather Klimchuk, Minister of Culture

“The mission of the Old Strathcona Foundation is to preserve, protect, and promote the historical story of Old Strathcona including the celebration of the heritage of the area and the stewardship of its historical assets for a vibrant community.  We feel the timing is ideal to formalize a partnership with Alberta Main Street as we celebrate our 40th anniversary and work towards further revitalization and enhanced public education surrounding the significance of our heritage in creating and maintaining this eclectic, well-loved district.”

Karen Tabor, Executive Director, Old Strathcona Foundation

Administered by the Alberta Historical Resources Foundation, the Alberta Main Street Program provides professional advice for the appropriate rehabilitation of storefronts in Alberta's historic downtown areas. Alberta Main Street communities have access to ongoing support for heritage planning and matching funding for approved conservation work.

Communities currently involved or having previously participated in the Main Street Program include:

  • Wainwright
  • Lacombe
  • Vilna
  • Camrose
  • Medicine Hat
  • Drumheller
  • Cardston
  • Claresholm
  • Fort MacLeod
  • Crowsnest Pass
  • Olds