Skip to content Skip to site navigation Skip to search

New deputy chief judge appointed to Provincial Court

Judge Lillian K. McLellan has been appointed Deputy Chief Judge of the Provincial Court of Alberta, effective January 30.

In her new role, McLellan will assist Chief Judge Terrence Matchett in managing the Provincial Court in the interest of the public while ensuring the efficient administration of justice. She is replacing Judge Allan Lefever, who held the position since 2008.

McLellan was appointed as a Provincial Court Judge in 2004, and has served as Assistant Chief Judge of the Calgary Family and Youth Court since 2012. McLellan has been actively involved in judicial education.

Prior to becoming a judge, McLellan practiced law in Alberta, was a mediator and sat on the boards of organizations such as the High River Hospital Foundation and Assist. She also served the legal community through the Law Society of Alberta as a Bar admission course instructor and as a member of the Unauthorized Practice of Law Committee.

“I am pleased to congratulate Judge McLellan on this appointment. Her vast experience and expertise will serve her well as she works to improve the administration of justice in Alberta. My sincere thanks to Judge Lefever, as his dedication has helped make Alberta’s court system one of the most innovative in Canada.”

- Jonathan Denis, Q.C., Minister of Justice and Solicitor General

Candidates for this position are interviewed by the Chief Judge and the outgoing Deputy Chief Judge of the Provincial Court. The Chief Judge then makes a recommendation to the Minister of Justice and Solicitor General, who in turn makes the final decision and appointment. A judge appointed as Deputy Chief Judge holds that office for a term not exceeding seven years.

Under the Building Alberta Plan, our government is investing in families and communities, living within our means, and opening new markets for Alberta's resources to ensure we're able to fund the services Albertans told us matter most to them. We will continue to deliver the responsible change Albertans voted for.

Media inquiries