This release was issued under a previous government.

Audrey Dean has been named acting director. Her term expires when a permanent director is appointed. The three part-time commissioners are Catherine Christopher; Sharon Lindgren-Hewlett; and Melissa Luhtanen. Their terms of office expire on December 31, 2014.

“I am pleased that Audrey Dean has been appointed as acting director,” said Blair Mason, Q.C., Chief of the Commission and Tribunals of the Alberta Human Rights Commission. “She brings with her almost 20 years of human rights experience and expertise.”

Dean has been with the commission since 1992 and is currently senior legal counsel. She has extensive experience with administrative tribunals and preparation of legislation and has advocated before all levels of court including the Supreme Court of Canada.

“The Alberta government supports the mandate of the Alberta Human Rights Commission to foster equality and reduce discrimination,” said Verlyn Olson, Q.C., Minister of Justice and Attorney General. “The addition of these four individuals will certainly bolster this support.”

The three persons appointed part-time commissioners all have extensive legal, administrative tribunal, adjudication and public interest experience.

For more information about the Alberta Human Rights Commission please visit For information on the role of members of the commission visit


Media inquiries may be directed to:

Josh Stewart
Alberta Justice Communications
[email protected]

Office of the Chief of the Commission and Tribunals
Alberta Human Rights Commission

To call toll free within Alberta dial 310-0000.