



February 17, 2011

Premier promotes Verlyn Olson and Greg Weadick to cabinet

Cal Dallas becomes the new Parliamentary Assistant to Finance

Edmonton... Premier Ed Stelmach announced today that Wetaskiwin-Camrose MLA Verlyn Olson, QC, has been named Minister of Justice and Attorney General, and Lethbridge West MLA Greg Weadick has been named Minister of Advanced Education and Technology.

"I'm pleased to welcome Verlyn and Greg to the cabinet table," said Premier Stelmach. "Verlyn and Greg bring the necessary talent and experience - Greg as a parliamentary assistant and Verlyn as a long-time member of the bar - to complete our cabinet team. Our cabinet will continue to provide the steady leadership required right now to continue building a better Alberta."

Premier Stelmach also named a new Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Finance and Enterprise. "I'm pleased that Red Deer South MLA Cal Dallas, who had been serving as the Parliamentary Assistant in Environment, will take over this important role and work closely with Finance Minister Lloyd Snelgrove," said the Premier.

Premier Stelmach also announced changes to committee memberships. Joining the Agenda and Priorities Committee are Sustainable Resource Development Minister Mel Knight, Children and Youth Services Minister Yvonne Fritz and Agriculture and Rural Development Minister Jack Hayden. New members of Treasury Board are Len Webber, Minister of Aboriginal Relations, Heather Klimchuk, Minister of Service Alberta, and Naresh Bhardwaj, MLA for Edmonton-Ellerslie.

The new Cabinet members will be sworn in Friday, February 18 at 8:30 a.m. at Government House.

Lloyd Snelgrove was sworn in as Minister of Finance and Enterprise on January 31.

-30-

Backgrounder: List of Cabinet members in order of precedence, list of Parliamentary Assistants and list of Government committee membership.

Media inquiries may be directed to:

Jerry Bellikka
Office of the Premier
780-422-4905
780-237-5509 (cell)
jerry.bellikka@gov.ab.ca

To call toll free within Alberta dial 310-0000.		

February 17, 2011

Premier Stelmach's Cabinet team in order of precedence

Ed Stelmach (Fort Saskatchewan-Vegreville)	Premier, President of Executive Council,
	Chair of Agenda and Priorities Committee,
	Vice-Chair of Treasury Board
	Liason to the Canadian Armed Forces
Lloyd Snelgrove (Vermilion-Lloydminster)	President of the Treasury Board,
	Minister of Finance & Enterprise
Dave Hancock (Edmonton-Whitemud)	Minister of Education, Government House Leader, Political Minister for Edmonton
Iris Evans (Sherwood Park)	Minister of International and Intergovernmental Relations
Mel Knight (Grande Prairie-Smoky)	Minister of Sustainable Resource Development
Luke Ouellette (Innisfail-Sylvan Lake)	Minister of Transportation
Rob Renner (Medicine Hat)	Minister of Environment,
	Deputy Government House Leader
Verlyn Olson (Wetaskiwin-Camrose)	Minister of Justice and Attorney General,
	Deputy Government House Leader
Yvonne Fritz (Calgary-Cross)	Minister of Children and Youth Services,
	Political Minister for Calgary
Jack Hayden (Drumheller-Stettler)	Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development,
Day Danyluk (Laa La Diebe Ct Dayl)	Political Minister for Rural Alberta
Ray Danyluk (Lac La Biche-St. Paul)	Minister of Infrastructure
Gene Zwozdesky (Edmonton-Mill Creek)	Minister of Health and Wellness, Deputy Government House Leader
Ron Liepert (Calgary-West)	Minister of Energy
Mary Anne Jablonski (Red Deer-North)	Minister of Seniors and Community Supports
Len Webber (Calgary-Foothills)	Minister of Aboriginal Relations
	Minister of Service Alberta
Heather Klimchuk (Edmonton-Glenora)	
Lindsay Blackett (Calgary-North West)	Minister of Culture and Community Spirit
Cindy Ady (Calgary-Shaw)	Minister of Tourism, Parks and Recreation
Hector Goudreau (Dunvegan-Central Peace)	Minister of Municipal Affairs
Frank Oberle (Peace River)	Solicitor General and Minister of Public Security
Jonathan Denis (Calgary-Egmont)	Minister of Housing and Urban Affairs, Deputy Government House Leader
Thomas Lukaszuk (Edmonton-Castle Downs)	Minister of Employment and Immigration

Greg Weadick (Lethbridge-West)	Minister of Advanced Education and
	Technology



February 17, 2011

List of Parliamentary Assistants

Broyce Jacobs (Cardston-Taber-Warner)	Agriculture and Rural Development
Janice Sarich (Edmonton-Decore)	Education
Teresa Woo-Paw (Calgary-Mackay)	Employment and Immigration
Diana McQueen (Drayton Valley-Calmar)	Energy
Cal Dallas (Red Deer-South)	Finance and Enterprise
Fred Horne (Edmonton-Rutherford)	Health and Wellness
Manmeet Bhullar (Calgary-Montrose)	Municipal Affairs
Evan Berger (Livingstone-Macleod)	Sustainable Resource Development
Jeff Johnson (Athabasca-Redwater)	Treasury Board (Oil Sands Sustainable
	Development Secretariat)



February 17, 2011

Government committee membership

Edmonton ... Membership of the Government of Alberta's Agenda and Priorities Committee, Treasury Board and Legislative Review Committee was announced by Premier Ed Stelmach.

Agenda and Priorities Committee

Ed Stelmach - Chair (Fort Saskatchewan-Vegreville)

Lloyd Snelgrove (Vermilion-Lloydminster)

Dave Hancock (Edmonton-Whitemud)

Iris Evans (Sherwood Park)

Mel Knight (Grande Prairie-Smoky)

Rob Renner (Medicine Hat)

Jack Hayden (Drumheller-Stettler)

Yvonne Fritz (Calgary-Cross)

Gene Zwozdesky (Edmonton-Mill Creek)

Ron Liepert (Calgary-West)

Robin Campbell (West Yellowhead)

Richard Marz (Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills)

Dave Rodney (Calgary-Lougheed)

Fred Horne (Edmonton-Rutherford)

Treasury Board

Lloyd Snelgrove - Chair (Vermilion-Lloydminster)

Ed Stelmach - Vice-Chair (Fort Saskatchewan-Vegreville)

Dave Hancock (Edmonton-Whitemud)

Luke Ouellette (Innisfail-Sylvan Lake)

Jack Hayden (Drumheller-Stettler)

Gene Zwozdesky (Edmonton-Mill Creek)

Ron Liepert (Calgary-West)

Len Webber (Calgary-Foothills)

Heather Klimchuk (Edmonton-Glenora)

Jeff Johnson (Athabasca-Redwater)

Barry McFarland (Little Bow)

Ray Prins (Lacombe-Ponoka)

George Rogers (Leduc-Beaumont-Devon)

Wayne Drysdale (Grande Prairie-Wapiti)

Naresh Bhardwaj (Edmonton-Ellerslie)

Legislative Review Committee

Verlyn Olson- Chair (Wetaskiwin-Camrose)

Dave Hancock - Vice Chair (Edmonton-Whitemud)

Jonathan Denis (Calgary-Egmont)

Neil Brown (Calgary-Nose Hill)

Kyle Fawcett (Calgary-North Hill)

Art Johnston (Calgary-Hays)

George VanderBurg (Whitecourt-Ste. Anne)

Tony Vandermeer (Edmonton-Beverly-Clareview)

-30-

<u>Alberta Government</u> | <u>Newsroom</u> | <u>Ministries Listing</u> | <u>Office of the Premier Home Page</u> | <u>NewsReleases</u> | <u>Top of Page</u> |

Send us your comments or questions

Copyright(©) 2011 Government of Alberta

