

A Healthy Approach

November 20, 2008

Province names new Alberta Health Services board members

Board oversees delivery of health services

Edmonton ... Following an extensive recruitment process, the Alberta government has named the permanent Alberta Health Services board. Eight new individuals will join the seven interim board members to form the 15-member board, effective Dec.1.

"I'm delighted to have such well respected and highly knowledgeable individuals serving on the Alberta Health Services board," said Ron Liepert, Minister of Health and Wellness. "We are extremely fortunate these individuals are interested in and committed to helping Albertans in this capacity."

"Board members have diverse yet complementary skills in areas including health, business, law, finance and academia. Albertans and Alberta's health care system will be well served by their collective expertise."

The board, which reports directly to the Minister of Health and Wellness, includes 13 members from Alberta, one member from Ontario and one member from the United States. All members are Canadian citizens, which is a requirement under regulation.

Ken Hughes will continue to serve as chair for a three-year term. Five board members were appointed for a one-year term with the possibility of a three-year renewal, pending approval of the chair and Minister. Another five board members were appointed for a two-year term and the remaining five members were appointed for a three-year term. All board members will receive honoraria and their travel expenses will be paid.

An executive search firm was hired to assist with the recruitment and selection process. Applications were sought through advertising in local and provincial newspapers.

-30-

Backgrounder: A list of board members is attached.

Media inquiries north of Red Deer may be directed to:

Shannon Haggarty, Communications, Alberta Health and Wellness, 780-427-7164

or

Media inquiries in Red Deer and south may be directed to:

Howard May, Communications, Alberta Health and Wellness, 403-660-1870

To call toll free within Alberta dial 310-0000.

November 20, 2008

Alberta Health Services board members

A 15-member permanent board has been appointed to lead Alberta Health Services, the provincial authority responsible for delivering health services in Alberta. Members of the board are as follows:

Former interim board members

Ken Hughes, Springbank (chair)

President, Alpine Insurance and Financial Inc.

Three-year term Former MP, Macleod riding

Former interim chair, Alberta Health Services board

Catherine Roozen, Edmonton (vice-chair) Director and Secretary, Cathton Holdings Ltd. and the Allard

Three-year term Foundation

Board member, Melcor Developments Ltd. and Corus

Entertainment Inc.

Jack Ady, Cardston Former Chair, Chinook Health Region

One-year term Former Member, Mount Royal College Board of Governors

Linda Hohol, Calgary Past President, TSX Venture Exchange

Two-year term Former Executive Vice President, Wealth Management,

CIBC

John Lehners, Grande Prairie Partner, Bearisto, Lehners, Ketchum Engineering Ltd.

Two-year term Trustee, Grande Prairie School District

Irene Lewis, Calgary President and CEO, SAIT Polytechnic

Three-year term Chair, Alberta Economic Development Authority's Energy

Resource Committee

Don Sieben, Edmonton Chartered accountant

Three-year term Member, Athabasca University and University of Alberta

Board of Governors

New board members

Lori Andreachuk, Medicine Hat Senior Partner, Andreachuk Popovitch Barristers and

One-year term Solicitors

Former Adjudicator, Human Rights Commission

Gord Bontje, Red Deer President and CEO, Laebon Developments Ltd.

Two-year term Former Chair, Red Deer Catholic Regional School Division

Teri Lynn Bougie, Sherwood Park Partner, Ahlstrom Wright Oliver and Cooper LLP Past President, Sherwood Park and District Chamber of Two-year term Commerce Jim Clifford, Wyckoff, New Jersey Executive Vice President, Quantia Communications Former Group Company Chair, CommonHealth One-year term University of Alberta alumnus Strater Crowfoot, DeWinton Executive Director and CEO, Indian Oil and Gas Canada Two-year term Former Board Member, National Energy Board of Canada President and CEO, Stantec Inc. Tony Franceschini, Edmonton Director, CCI Thermal Technologies Inc. and Esterline Three-year term **Technologies Corporation** Andreas Laupacis, Toronto, Ontario Executive Director, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute One-year term Physician

Member, Health Advisory Committee, Alberta Heritage

Foundation for Medical Research

Gord Winkel, Fort McMurray

One-year term

Vice President on loan from Syncrude Canada Ltd. to

Imperial

Oil/ExxonMobil

Former Board Member, Northern Lights Health Region

-30-

Media inquiries north of Red Deer may be directed to:

Shannon Haggarty, Communications, Alberta Health and Wellness, 780-427-7164

or

Media inquiries in Red Deer and south may be directed to:

Howard May, Communications, Alberta Health and Wellness, 403-660-1870

To call toll free within Alberta dial 310-0000.

Alberta Government | Newsroom | Ministries Listing | Health and Wellness Home Page | News Releases Top of Page

Send us your comments or questions

Copyright(©) 2008 Government of Alberta

