2021 award submission period
Closed: March 31 2021

Award categories

The 2021 Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence feature the following categories:

Building Economic Strength

Open to all municipalities

  • Award will be given for an innovative initiative involving the municipality and business community that addresses a challenge affecting community economic strength.

Enhancing Community Safety

Open to all municipalities

  • Award will be given for an innovative initiative that engages the community to address a safety issue. This could involve crime prevention, infrastructure enhancements (for example: lighting, accessibility, traffic calming measures) and community services initiatives.


Open to all municipalities

  • Award will be given for an innovative initiative involving a local or regional partnership that achieves results that could not have otherwise been accomplished by the municipality alone. This could involve cooperation, coordination and collaboration with other municipalities, businesses, Indigenous communities, non-profit organizations, community groups and other orders of government to achieve a specific outcome.

Service Delivery Innovation

Open to all municipalities

  • Award will be given for an innovative initiative that improves the delivery or reduces the cost of a program or service through a more efficient process or through the use of an alternate delivery approach.

Smaller Municipalities

Open to municipalities with populations less than 5,000

  • Award will be given for a municipal initiative that demonstrates leadership, resourcefulness or innovation, or both, to better the community.


  • All Alberta municipalities are eligible for the Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence. The Smaller Municipality category is the only category that is restricted to municipalities with population under 5,000.
  • Municipalities may submit 1 or 2 practices per year. Each initiative can only be submitted once. This means the same initiative cannot be submitted to more than one category.
  • The awards program is open only to municipalities to apply, though other organizations can have a role in the submitted initiative. This means the municipality applies for the award and can recognize its partners or other organizations, or both, as part of its submission.
  • Submissions must demonstrate that the practice addressed a community need and has been in place for a sufficient length of time to produce verifiable results.

How to apply

Use the submission form below to provide information about your municipal initiative. Completed submission forms can be emailed to: [email protected].

The deadline to submit an initiative for the 2021 Minister’s Awards for Municipal Excellence was March 31, 2021. Stay tuned for details on the 2022 awards categories and deadlines.

Submissions will be evaluated by a panel of municipal representatives, which will recommend award winners to the Minister. The 2021 award recipients will be announced in summer 2021.

See recent and past award recipients.


For questions about the Minister’s Awards for Municipal Excellence program:

Hours: 8:15 am to 4:30 pm (open Monday to Friday, closed statutory holidays)
Phone: 780-427-2225
Toll free: 310-0000 before the phone number (in Alberta)
Email: [email protected]

Was this page helpful?

All fields are required unless otherwise indicated.

You will not receive a reply. Do not enter any personal information such as telephone numbers, addresses, or emails.

Your submissions are monitored by our web team and are used to help improve the experience on Alberta.ca. If you require a response, please go to our Contact page.