Under the federal government's Investing in Canada Infrastructure Program, Alberta is receiving $2.1 billion for public transit over the next 10 years (2018-28).

Eligible communities with existing transit authorities can apply for funding to improve or expand public transportation.

The primary objective is to support new construction. Rehabilitation projects will be capped nationally at 15% of total public transit funding to allow for regional variation.

Eligible recipients

Infrastructure Canada has earmarked funding exclusively to the following municipalities with existing transit authorities. Communities without existing transit authorities are ineligible for this funding. Allocations will be based on ridership numbers.

  • Airdrie
  • Banff/Bow Valley
  • Calgary
  • Cold Lake
  • Edmonton
  • Fort Saskatchewan
  • Grande Prairie
  • Hinton
  • Leduc
  • Lethbridge
  • Medicine Hat
  • Red Deer
  • Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo
  • Rocky View
  • Spruce Grove
  • St. Albert
  • Strathcona County
  • Whitecourt

Cost sharing

The federal government will cost share up to the following:

  • 40% of eligible expenditures in Alberta for new construction and expansion of public transit and active transportation that connects citizens to their public transit systems
  • 50% of eligible expenditures in Alberta for public transit rehabilitation projects
  • 25% of eligible expenditures for any for-profit private sector ultimate recipients notwithstanding clause a) or b) in this section

Eligible projects

Eligible projects must meet at least one of the following outcomes:

  • improved capacity of public transit infrastructure
  • improved quality and/or safety of existing or future transit systems
  • improved access to a public transit system

Eligible projects include:

  • new buses, light rail transit
  • active transportation infrastructure (for example: bike and walking paths)
  • improved access to transit and transit stations (for example: low floor buses, barrier free stations)

Ineligible projects include:

  • inter-city bus, rail, port and ferry infrastructure which are not part of a public transit system

Reporting requirements

Climate assessments

All projects with total eligible costs over $10 million will require climate assessments as part of the project submission process.

This includes a Greenhouse Gas Mitigation Assessment and the Climate Change Resilience Assessment.

More details will be shared with eligible applicants.

Community employment benefits

All projects with total eligible costs over $25 million will be required to report on community employment benefits generated by the project.

This requirement is intended to increase employment opportunities for the following targeted groups in the construction industry and related sectors: apprentices, Indigenous peoples, women, persons with disabilities, veterans, youth, new Canadians, or small-sized, medium sized and social enterprises.

More details will be shared with eligible applicants.

Was this page helpful?

Your submissions are monitored by our web team and are used to help improve the experience on Alberta.ca.