Important dates

Application deadline: January 15, 2020

Extension/Course change requests: April 1, 2021

Course delivery deadline: May 31, 2021

Reporting document deadline: June 30, 2021


The Fire Services Training Program (FSTP) provides funding to support communities in ensuring their local fire services are adequately trained to safely and effectively respond based on identified risk.

Key outcomes of the program include:

  • Alberta communities are supported in developing capacity to prevent, prepare for , and respond to identified risk
  • training of fire services remains current and is updated as required
  • training aligns with and supports community planning

For more information, read the Fire Services Training Program: Program Guidelines document.


The allocated funding supplements the approved training. The municipality/training group must agree to contribute any outstanding funds for the training.

Funding is made as a lump-sum payment to the hosting municipality or First Nation.

Eligible entities

Eligible entities include Alberta’s:

  • municipalities
  • Métis settlements
  • First Nations communities
  • partnerships of the above or partnerships with a municipality as the primary applicant

Ineligible entities

Ineligible entities include:

  • individuals
  • applicants with history of non-compliance
  • for-profit business/corporations

Eligible project costs

Eligible costs for projects and courses include, but are not limited to:

  • fire services training, and
  • specialized training programs

Ineligible costs

Ineligible project costs include:

  • capital or equipment purchases, repairs, upgrading or maintenance
  • wages, stipends, meals, travel or honoraria for students
  • training carried out before the minister signs the Conditional Grant Agreement (CGA)
  • Incident Command System courses
  • training completed prior to receiving Minister approval
  • rental of owned classrooms and equipment
  • in-house instructor fees (i.e. training is not intended to subsidize an employee’s full-time salary, but may be paid to volunteers as contractors).

How to apply

Step 1. Read the guidelines

Read the most recent Fire Services Training Program: Program Guidelines

Step 2. Complete

Trouble opening or completing PDF forms?

Fillable forms do not open properly on some mobile devices and web browsers. To fill in and save this form:

  1. Click on the PDF link to save it on your computer.
  2. Launch Adobe Reader.
  3. Open the PDF from within Adobe Reader. You can now fill and save your form.

Fire Services Training Program application form (PDF, 3.7 MB)

Refer to Appendix 1 of the Fire Services Training Program: Program Guidelines for instructions on completing different sections of the application form. (PDF, 61 KB)

Step 3. Submit the application package

All applications must be received by the January 15, 2020 deadline.

Mail or email your application form, detailed plan and letter of collaboration (if applicable) to:

Grants Coordinator
Public Safety Division
Alberta Municipal Affairs
16th Floor, Commerce Place
10155 102 Street
Edmonton, Alberta  T5J 4L4


After you apply

Application criteria

Applications will be evaluated on the following criteria:

  • a comprehensive plan outlining timelines for training completion
  • a letter of support demonstrating the collaboration with training partners, including a breakdown of course hosting
  • meeting compliance in previous years and history of training completed

All courses or the full requested amount may not be awarded.

Successful applicants

Applicants will be notified within 2 and 1/2 months of the application deadline. Both successful and unsuccessful applicants will receive a notification.

Successful applicants will sign a Conditional Grant Agreement (CGA). Only after the Minister (or his delegated representative) signs this agreement can training start.

The terms of the agreement include:

  • the use of the grant for approved purposes only
  • eligibility
  • reporting and accountability requirements
  • the Minister’s right to audit any project
  • the Minister’s right to require a refund of any grant funds not used in accordance with the agreement

Minister’s decisions regarding grant funding are final.

First Nations applicants

First Nations must submit a Band Council Resolution along with the signed CGA.

Reporting requirements

Reporting documents are due June 30, 2021.

Use the FSTP Reporting Form to help fill out your reporting requirements.

You will need to submit information that demonstrates:

  • that the total grant received was used in accordance with the CGA
  • include all receipts/invoices
  • a description of the training undertaken
  • certification that the municipality or First Nation did not use any portion of the grant to carry out any training before the original CGA was signed by the Minister of Municipal Affairs
  • that course(s) were completed by May 31, 2021 or by the completion date as stated in an amended CGA


If you have any questions about the program or these guidelines, contact the Grants Coordinator.

Hours: 8:15 am to 4:30 pm (open Monday to Friday, closed statutory holidays)
Phone: 1-866-421-6929