All municipalities in Alberta, Metis Settlements and the Townsite of Redwood Meadows Administration Society are eligible for Gas Tax Fund (GTF) funding.

The program provides conditional grants for capital-related projects that meet the program eligibility criteria.


GTF funding is provided to provinces and territories from the federal government which in turn flow this funding to municipalities. Municipalities can pool, and bank this funding, providing significant financial flexibility. Unspent capital funds may be carried forward a total of 5 years.

The annual program budget for the GTF is subject to Canada advising Alberta of the yearly provincial funding.

Municipalities will be advised of their annual GTF funding allocations after Alberta's funding has been confirmed by Canada and we have authorized specific funding allocations.

GTF funding allocations for municipalities are calculated on a per capita basis, according to the prior year's Municipal Affairs Population List.

Municipalities (with the exception of summer villages) will receive a minimum allocation of $50,000 per year and summer villages will receive a base allocation of $5,000 per year, in addition to the per capita amount.

The funding provided under this program is intended to supplement the current average annual expenditures on capital municipal infrastructure.

To receive payment of GTF funding allocations, municipalities must meet the payment requirements outlined in the program guidelines.

GTF allocation amounts by municipality

GTF allocations for 2020 and prior years are available on Alberta's Open Government website.