A fair deal for Alberta

The Fair Deal Panel consulted Albertans on how best to define and secure a fair deal for Alberta. It explored ideas that give us a bigger voice within the federation, increase our power over areas of provincial jurisdiction, and advance our vital economic interests, such as building energy pipelines.

A report on what the panel heard and its recommendations to government was submitted in May 2020.

Given the current pandemic, government will announce a date for the public release of the report once the urgency of the COVID-19 response has subsided.


The Fair Deal Panel consultation process ended in March 2020. The panel obtained input from tens of thousands of Albertans through in-person town halls meetings held across the province, an online survey and written submissions.

The panel also interviewed dozens of experts and stakeholder organizations across a variety of sectors.

Thank you to all of the Albertans who took the time to participate in this important process.

Explore ideas

The Fair Deal Panel listened to Albertans and their ideas for our future and considered the following areas:

  • Establishing a provincial revenue agency to collect provincial taxes directly by ending the Canada-Alberta Tax Collection Agreement, while joining Quebec in seeking an agreement to collect federal taxes within the province.
  • Creating an Alberta Pension Plan by withdrawing from the Canada Pension Plan.
  • Establishing a provincial police force by ending the Alberta Police Service Agreement with the Government of Canada.
  • Emulating Quebec’s practice of playing a larger role in international relations, in part by seeking Alberta representation in treaty negotiations that effect Alberta’s interests.
  • Emulating Quebec’s legal requirement that public bodies, including municipalities and school boards, obtain the approval of the provincial government before they can enter into agreements with the federal government.
  • Using the existing provincial power to appoint the Chief Firearms Office for Alberta.
  • Opting out of federal cost share programs with full compensation, such as the federal government’s proposed pharmacare program.
  • Seeking an exchange of tax points for federal cash transfers under the Canada Health and Social Transfers.
  • Establishing a formalized provincial constitution.

Meet the panel

Read the Fair Deal Panel mandate letter (PDF, 262 KB)

  • Oryssia Lennie CM, panel chair

    Ms. Lennie worked for the Government of Alberta for more than 25 years and, federally, was Deputy Minister of Western Economic Diversification Canada. She is also the recipient of the Lieutenant Governor of Alberta’s 2002 Award for Excellence in Public Administration. In December 2016, she was appointed to the Order of Canada.

  • Photo of Preston Manning

    Preston Manning PC CC AOE

    Mr. Manning’s long record of public service includes work as founder of the Reform Party, as a Member of Parliament from Calgary Southwest from 1993-2002, and as the Leader of Her Majesty's Loyal Opposition from 1997-2000. He is one of Canada's leading thinkers on public policy and constitutional reform.

  • Photo of Stephen Lougheed

    Stephen Lougheed

    Mr. Lougheed is a national leader in innovation and technology-related businesses serving environmental, resource, utility, public sector and ICT markets. He has served on numerous boards and as President and CEO of Alberta Innovates.

  • Photo of Jason Goodstriker

    Jason Goodstriker*

    Mr. Goodstriker was a member and former Band Councillor of the Blood Tribe of the Blackfoot people. He served as Alberta Regional Chief for the Assembly of First Nations and worked in a variety of capacities in the energy industry for many years.

    *Chief Goodstriker passed away unexpectedly on January 16, 2020. He was a valued and irreplaceable member of the Fair Deal Panel.

  • Photo of Donna Kennedy-Glans

    Donna Kennedy-Glans QC

    Ms. Kennedy-Glans represented the electoral district of Calgary Varsity in the Legislative Assembly of Alberta from 2012-2015. She chaired the all-party Standing Committee on Resource Stewardship and served as Associate Minister – Electricity and Renewable Energy. Before entering politics she had a distinguished career as a lawyer and businesswoman in the Alberta energy industry and founded a non-profit to train youth and professional leaders in Yemen and in First Nations communities in Alberta.

  • Photo of MLA Drew Barnes

    Drew Barnes, MLA

    Mr. Barnes is the MLA for Cypress-Medicine Hat. He was first elected in 2012. Barnes spent 26 years in real estate managing a successful real estate office in Medicine Hat before entering politics. He has a bachelor of commerce degree from the University of Alberta.

  • Photo of Moin Yahya

    Moin Yahya PhD JD

    Mr. Yahya is a Professor at the University of Alberta Faculty of Law, where he was Vice Dean from 2014-2019. Before attending law school, Yahya was employed with Industry Canada's Competition Bureau. He has an M.A. in Economics from the University of Alberta, a Ph.D. in Economics from the University of Toronto, and a J.D. (Summa Cum Laude) from George Mason University School of Law.

  • Photo of MLA Miranda Rosin

    Miranda Rosin, MLA

    Ms. Rosin is the MLA for Banff-Kananaskis. She was first elected in 2019.  Rosin previously worked in communications and market development. She holds a Bachelor of Business Administration Degree in Marketing and International Business from the University of Regina in conjunction with the Shanhai Lixin University of Commerce.

  • Photo of MLA Tany Yao

    Tany Yao, MLA

    Mr. Yao is the MLA for Fort McMurray-Wood Buffalo. He was first elected in 2015. Yao previously spent 20 years in emergency response services, filling a variety of roles. He has also volunteered his time in support of various non-profit and charitable organizations.


To contact the Fair Deal Panel, please email info@fairdeal.ca.

Sign up for updates

Subscribe to receive email updates on the panel's work and opportunities to get involved.

All fields are required unless otherwise indicated.

This personal information is collected under the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy (FOIP) Act. Read more about information collection.