This cartographic quality series of 1:1 000 000 scale colour maps covers the provincial extent of Alberta, part of the Provincial Base Map Series.

The map series is available as a fee free download and provided in a geo-referenced Adobe PDF format under the Open Government Licence – Alberta.

Your use of the information will be governed by the terms of the Open Government Licence – Alberta, in force as of the date you accessed the information.

Of note, the series is derived from the Provincial Base Map Series source digital vector data that is alsavailable under the Open Government Licence – Alberta and is distributed by AltaLIS Ltd. – Small Scale Mapping – 1:1 Million Base.

These maps display:

  • Alberta Township System (ATS)
  • major hydrographic features
  • major roads
  • municipalities
  • railways
  • select geo-administrative features (parks, reserves, etc.)

In addition to the primary provincial base map, this series includes various themes that overlay the primary base map.

Map Coverage and How to View

At this scale 1.0 cm on the map represents 10 km on the ground. Each map covers an area of 10 degrees of longitude and 11 degrees of latitude. Generally these maps are printed on 78.74 x 129.54cm (31" x 51") paper size.

This product can be viewed on a computer, printed or be plotted in part or in whole. To maintain the original map scale when printing the entire product, it must be plotted on a plotter that can use paper that is a minimum width of 82cm (32").

Map Series Updates and Samples

The update of this map series is based on the provincial Base Features Access Update Program that has an approximate 5 year update cycle. Refer to the 'time period of content' in the *.xml FGDC metadata record provided with each map product download for currency of each map product.

This series is updated on an annual basis.

View a sample 1: 1 000 000 map sheet:

Map Sheet Themes of the Map Series

The following content is now available from the GeoDiscover Alberta Portal on the PDF Maps tab use keywords or map scale to filter the products available.

The following additional options are under the main Provincial Base Map:

  • NTS Grid
  • Municipalities
  • EP Operations Regions, Parks Regions and Parks Districts
  • EP Operations Regions, Green / White Area
  • Provincial Electoral Division
  • Forest Management Units / Forest Management Agreement Holders
  • Forest Areas of Alberta
  • Land-use Framework Planning Regions
    • Green / White Area
    • Treaty Boundary
    • Forest Management Units / Forest Management Agreement Holders, Green / White Area
    • Municipalities, Green / White Area
    • EP Operations Regions, Green / White Area
  • Public Land Use Zones
  • Fish and Wildlife Districts, Green / White Area
  • Registered Fur Management Areas (RFMA) – scaled t1:900 000 scale
  • Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Regions and Fish and Wildlife Enforcement Districts