# Mental Health in Schools Pilot Enhancing the mental health of Alberta's students

## **Role of school authorities**

Schools are essential settings for mental health supports and services and the education system plays an important role in contributing to enhanced positive mental health in children and youth. The role of school authorities in the provision of a robust mental health supports and services is prevention, promotion, early and short-term intervention, and establishing partnerships for barrier free access of an integrated pathway to, through and from specialized services.

### **Mental Health in Schools Pilots**

To support school authorities in enhancing their mental health continuum of supports and services, Alberta Education is providing \$50 million for 80 mental health pilot projects utilizing new and innovative approaches to support students' mental health and well-being. As supporting the mental health of students is a shared responsibility, school authorities are partnering with a mental health provider or other entity in the two-year pilots.

Findings from the Mental Health in Schools Pilots are being carefully considered in informing future funding and policy and ensuring an informed approach in moving forward to support mental health in schools.

#### An informed approach

Alberta Education is developing a strong understanding of Alberta's context as it pertains to mental health in schools through a coinciding grant provided to Werklund School of Education, University of Calgary. Werklund School of Education is conducting an extensive mapping of the pilots including current strengths, needs and gaps and promising practices in ensuring future decisions are responsive to need and Alberta's context.

At the same time, the team at Werklund School of Education is conducting research into a framework to support school and school authority leaders in what is required in the provision of a robust mental health continuum of supports and services including tools for implementation. While this framework is being informed by research, extensive stakeholder engagement conducted by Werklund is ensuring the framework is responsive to Alberta's unique context.

## Successful applicants

The following school authorities are successful applicants or partners with fully executed contracts in the Mental Health in Schools Pilot.

First Call: December 2022 – December 2024 Almadina School Society Aurora Academic Charter School Authority Battle River School Division Bearspaw Christian School Society and BCS@Home Black Gold School Division Buffalo Trail School Division Calgary Arts Academy Society Calgary Board of Education Calgary Roman Catholic Separate School Division Chinook's Edge School Division

Northland School Division Palliser School Division Parkland School Division Paul First Nation Education Authority Peace River School Division Peace Wapiti School Division Pembina Hills School Division Phoenix Education Foundation Prairie Land School Division Prairie Rose School Division Red Deer Catholic Separate School Division



**Clearview School Division** Connect Charter School Society **Conseil Scolaire Centre-Nord Conseil Scolaire Centre-Est** Conseil Scolaire FrancoSud East Central Alberta Catholic Separate School Division Edmonton Catholic Separate School Division Edmonton Public School Division Elk Island Catholic Separate School Division Elk Island School Division **Elves Special Needs Society** Evergreen Catholic Separate School Division Foothills School Division Fort McMurray Roman Catholic Separate School Division Fort McMurray School Division Fort Vermillion School Division Golden Hills School Division Grand Prairie Roman Catholic Separate School Division Grand Prairie School Division Greater St. Albert Roman Catholic Separate School Division High Prairie School Division Holy Family Catholic Separate School Division Holy Spirit Roman Catholic Separate School Division Horizon School Division Ignite Centre for e-learning/ Lethbridge School Division Little Red River Board of Education Living Waters Catholic Separate School Division Livingstone Range School Division Medicine Hat School Division Medicine Hat Roman Catholic Separate School Division Mikisew Cree First Nation Education Authority Northern Gateway School Division

Red Deer School Division Rocky View School Division St. Albert School Division St. Paul School Division St. Thomas Aquinas Roman Catholic Separate School Division STEM Innovation Academy Society Sturgeon School Division Sunchild First Nation Education Authority Waldorf Education Society of Edmonton Wild Rose School Division Wolf Creek School Division Second Call: September 2023 – June 2025 Aspen View School Division Calgary Academy Society Canadian Rockies School Division Conseil Scolaire du Nord-Ouest Edison School Society Edmonton Academy Society for Learning Disabled Father's House Christian Fellowship-Sturgeon County Grande Yellowhead School Division Heart Lake First Nation Education Authority Holden Rural Academy Society Independent School Authority Ltd. Kainai Board of Education Kitaskinaw Education Authority Lakeland Roman Catholic Separate School Division Lloydminster Public School Division Lloydminster Roman Catholic Separate School Division

Northern Lights School Division

Strathcona Tweedsmuir School Westwind School Division

Yellowhead Koinonia Christian School Society

For more details, visit: <u>https://www.alberta.ca/mental-health-in-schools.aspx</u> ©2022 Government of Alberta | December 19, 2023 | Education Classification: Public

Alberta